caitlinmcintosh

Effects of Public Relations & Advertising

Posted on: November 11, 2011

Almost all of the concerts that I have ever seen were advertised on Facebook. Other than Facebook ads, I usually check up on the band websites regularly to view their tour dates. When it comes to movies I usually find out about those from movie trailers on commercials and posters. I find these types of advertising very effective when it comes down to what is suitable for me; however, various types of consumers in this competitive market, calls for various types of public relations and advertising.

I can understand how some people can become skeptical towards the effects of traditional public relations and advertising. What they do not realize is that the repetitive image they see in this is subconciously making connections and memorization towards this movie/concert;  Therefore, increasing the chance that they will mention such without even knowing that the public relations and advertising effected them. I truly believe that seeing posters, hearing about events, newspaper/magazine ads, facebook, etc. has influenced me to attend both movies and concerts. The bigger the acknowledgement that the movie or concert gets, the greater is my desire to attend.

I regularly visit my favorite band’s websites and receive newsletters from them about tour dates and appearances throughout the year. I originally joined these emailing lists out of mere interest in the bands, yet, I find myself wanting to attend more and more because of the constant advertising that I am surrounded by because of this.

https://www.kingsofleon.com/home

http://www.bassnectar.net/

2 Responses to "Effects of Public Relations & Advertising"

I agree with you that people don’t realize a majority of the things they do, they do because of public relations. If you never saw any ads or read any articles about your favorite band being in Atlanta in January, you would not go. But seeing all the hype for it makes you want to immediately buy a ticket. The same goes for movies. Alot of the time you go see a movie because you see 259843 commercials for it in a day. It could turn out that it is an awful movie, but you saw it anyways because there was so much publicity for it. Repetitiveness is a key aspect of public relations because it is the way you get your message to stick in the public’s mind.

Leave a comment